C is for Creativity

It is typical to build a relationship with one’s deities is through prayer and worship. This might be through setting up an altar, collecting items associated with them, wearing an item (like a piece of jewellery, or a headscarf) as an expression of faith, meditating, praying to them, or doing things that they might wish.

For Brigid, I do most of the above: I think of her when I meditate, I pray to her, I do things I think she might wish or that I feel she has asked me to do; my altar isn’t specifically for her, but I have started to collect items associated with her; I wear a headband and sometimes a headscarf, and – for jewellery – I have been drawn to an old Celtic cross that I bought in a shop in Ireland over a decade ago. I wear it under my clothes, to avoid assumptions that I’m Christian. That’s quite a number of things I try to keep in my daily life as a way of affirming my faith.

Above all that, though, I find that creation is one of the greatest acts of faith. Brigid, as mentioned before, is a deity of the fire in the mind – the fire of inspiration. When I am inspired to draw, paint, sing, play instruments, or write, I am doing it because of Brigid, and for Brigid. It’s a way of building that faith relationship, and of expressing my faith (like this blog project!), and it honours her. I think that the more I create, the happier I’ll be and the happier she’ll be.

1 Comment

Filed under pagan blog project

One response to “C is for Creativity

  1. Thank you very much for this post! I’ve been working with Brigid over the last year or so, and I’ve been a bit puzzled about how I can best honour her in a way that feels meaningful to me. Somehow, I never really thought that my creative work that I’m doing can be a form of devotion in and of itself.

Leave a Reply

