M is for Metaphor

Metaphor! I love metaphor. I love the thought of the year as a turning wheel, moving through the festivals. As previously mentioned, the knowledge that summer and sunlight will appear again is a balm in the winter months when my Seasonal Affective Disorder casts a bleak shadow over me.

Before I was Pagan, I used to read Wintersmith by Terry Pratchett for my source of summer/winter metaphor. This year I joyfully celebrated Imbolc as Brigid’s emergence, bringing fire and light into the cold, winter-struck world. Brigid and the Cailleach, carrying each other through the wheel in perpetual motion.

What’s joyful for me is that the seasons are both the result of the spin of the world and the elliptical orbit around the sun, and also the spin of Brigid and the Cailleach, the wheel, the festivals. The metaphor is where my faith lives. I mean, the fact that the earth turns and the sun shines is beautiful and a reason for joy anyway.

It’s kind of how I got into faith. I read Life of Pi and considered the two tales and admired the levels of meaning in the metaphor. I was relieved to learn that I could have faith, that it could be my choice, that it was something for me. It was also quite a relief to realise that I didn’t have to abandon my knowledge of science, and that each could have its place for different purposes. I didn’t actually have to squee-harsh all my joy at the spirituality of the world!

Metaphor is my favourite. ❤

1 Comment

Filed under pagan blog project

One response to “M is for Metaphor

  1. I never know what to call my belief system, but if it’s anything, it’s worshipping Story, which I suppose is worshipping metaphor.

Leave a Reply

