Q is for Quiet

Quiet and reflection is part of my spirituality and faith; it’s part of my practice.

Quiet worship initially drew me towards Quakerism, or the Society of Friends, since I liked the concept of perpetual seeking: seeking knowledge, largely in silence, and each person working out their own truths and wisdom as inspired by the divine. I still enjoy that quiet seeking, though not in uncomfortable (for me!) group situations.

I enjoy solitude: solitary walks, quiet communing with nature (sitting quietly and relishing being outdoors; listening to birds and insects; staying silent. I’m learning to draw times of quiet reflection into busy or noisy environments by quietly practising Ogham, drawing a Wheel of the Year, or simply contemplating.

Quiet, for me, is not about simply learning not to speak. It’s about learning to listen, and to really try to expand my own awareness of my surroundings and of all my surroundings. It’s the predominant way I draw spirituality into my everyday life, since I’m not – yet – one for rituals or group worship. I’m fortunate enough to work in a job where I frequently get to wander the grounds of a medieval castle on my own. I walk, I listen, and I seek the divine in the quiet.

3 Comments

Filed under pagan blog project

3 responses to “Q is for Quiet

  1. I am similarly quietly minded, but I wondered if you ever find it isolating in any way? Not lonely, more that I feel any spirituality should probably take into account other people, but yet I don’t know how to express that because I’m so private.

    • A little. I’m not sure whether I feel sad because I don’t join in, because I worry that I can’t join in, or because I worry that others won’t like me if I *did* join in. That kind of defines my whole existence, actually. /o\

  2. Interesting point about learning to listen. I adore quiet and stillness, but for me it’s often a health thing because I have neuro issues that play badly with sound and light. So I easily slip into the ‘shut everything out’ type of quiet, rather than the listening type. And that’s sad, because as you say it’s about looking and listening outwards rather than shutting yourself away.

Leave a Reply

